Pemaquid Art Gallery

The Pemaquid Art Gallery at Lighthouse Park will open its doors for a pre-season exhibit over Memorial Day Weekend. Visitors are invited to visit the gallery from 10 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. May 29 to 31.

The gallery will fully re-open for the 2021 summer season on June 4 through Columbus Day with daily hours of 10 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.

Covid safety precautions will be in place, and masks are required.

The Pemaquid Group of Artists is a nonprofit organization consisting of artist members juried into the group. The 32 artists exhibiting their artwork in 2021 are all from Lincoln County.

This season, the artists welcome nine new artists. John Butke, a Boothbay resident, is a locally known oil painter. Gwendolyn Evans, of Walpole, excels at watercolor painting. Hannah Ineson, of Damariscotta, has transitioned from painting to clay works. Alexandra Perry-Weiss, of Bristol, will exhibit works in oil. Kim Skillin Traina, of Edgecomb, will present her pastel paintings. Candace Vlcek, a Wiscasset resident and pastelist, will also exhibit. Sherrie York, of Bristol, will display her linocut works. Carol Wiley, a resident of Newcastle, was juried in as a 2021 guest artist. She will exhibit her color-filled oil paintings. Also juried in as a guest artist is Brooke Pacy, of Waldoboro, who will display her signature oil paintings.

From left, new artists at the Pemaquid Art Gallery are Gwendolyn Evans, Candace Vlcek, Kimbery Skillin Traina, Brooke Pacy, Alexandra Perry-Weiss, Sherrie York and John Butke. Not pictured are Hannah Ineson and Carol Wiley.

Each year, the cooperative gallery provides financial aid to one or more community art programs, as well as a Museum Pass for the Portland Museum of Art, available to anyone at Skidompha Library. Artist-donated paintings and gallery patrons all help to make these gifts possible.

The 2021 exhibiting artists who are returning include Barbara Applegate, Debra Arter, Bruce Babb, Julie Babb, Stephen Busch, Dianne Dolan, Peggy Farrell, Sarah Fisher, Claire Hancock, Kay Sawyer Hannah, Kathleen Horst, Will Kefauver, Jan Kilburn, Barbara Klein, Patti Leavitt, Sally Loughridge,  Judy Nixon, Paul Sherman, Cindy Spencer, Liliana Thelander, Barbara Vanderbilt, Bob Vaughan and Bev Walker.

For more information, call the gallery at 677-2752 or visit